WCC-APR 37th General Assembly, 2018

29 August - 02 September, 2018

Kathmandu, Nepal

World Crafts Council-Asia Pacific Region (WCC-APR)

Founded in 1964, the World Crafts Council (WCC) is a non-profit, non- governmental organization. Its purpose is to strengthen the status of crafts as a vital part of cultural and economic life, to promote fellowship among the crafts persons of the world, to offer them encouragement, help, advice and foster economic development through income generating activities. In short, the WCC’s mission seeks to bring crafts and crafts persons into the mainstream of life, connecting with the past through maintaining inherited traditions and looking into the future through the use of modern technology to experiment, innovate and reach out to new markets.

The main objective of the World Crafts Council is the establishment of a craft movement to provide a better future to the craftsperson of the world. The Council aims to promote fellowship among craftsperson by offering them encouragement, help and advice. The organization is now formally registered in Belgium as an international organization and AISBL is there the french shortcut for an international association without lucrative purpose. WCC is affiliated to UNESCO in a consultative status. WCC is organized into five regions Africa, Asia Pacific, Europe, Latin America and North America.

World Crafts Council-Asia Pacific Region (WCC-APR)

The World Crafts Council-Asia Pacific Region (WCC-APR) is one of the WCC Five Regions: Africa, Asia Pacific, Europe, Latin America and North America. Hence, it is like the WCC a non-government with a status Category A at UNESCO.

Asia Pacific Region Executive Board meets twice a year. The Asia Pacific Region covers the Asian countries stretching from the furthest West, to the furthest East, and includes Australia and the South Pacific Islands. Such a frame incorporates within the following six sub- regions:

West Asia: Bahrain, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, UAE

Central Asia: Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan

South Asia: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka

South-East Asia: Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam

Far East Asia: China, Hong Kong-China, Japan, Mongolia, North and South Korea, Taiwan-China

South Pacific: Australia, New Zealand and the South-Pacific Islands 

View Photos of past activities of WCC-APR Events